

The Honorable James Michael Johnson Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Johnson,

The New Democrat Coalition has continually recognized the urgency of the situation at the border. In May, we called for comprehensive immigration reform and increased funding to secure the southern border. In July, we urged the Biden Administration to request supplemental resources to bolster border operations. In November, we implored you to bring the Administration's national security supplemental to the floor for a vote. And we have repeatedly called for bipartisan solutions to meaningfully address the challenges presented by increased migration, the flow of illicit fentanyl through our ports of entry, and the backlog of visa applications and asylum cases in our immigration courts.

That is why we were dismayed by your comments this week that you refuse to even consider a bipartisan solution to securing our border or bring to the floor the national security supplemental. It is unfortunate that you and members of your Conference have described the situation as a winning political issue, and suggested that you would wait to act on the border until a Republican president is elected. This is unacceptable. We respectfully urge you to put the American people and our nation's security ahead of petty partisan politics.

It is long past time to negotiate in good faith on a bipartisan solution to humanely secure our southern border and reform our immigration system. We appreciate your consideration of this request and remain ready to work together to address this critical issue.

Sincerely,



Ann McLane Kuster

Chair

New Democrat Coalition

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress Derek Kilmer

Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D.
Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

Val Hoyle

Member of Congress

Wiley Nicke

Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar



Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress William R. Keating
Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress Mike Quigley
Member of Congress



Greg Stanton

Member of Congress

Caba

Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton

Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Greg Landsman

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Ph Km

Lizzie Fletcher

Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill



Seth Moulton
Member of Congress

Im Sewell

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Patrick K. Ryan
Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Im Himes
Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider
Member of Congress

fatt fehreide



Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvan
Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz
Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez

Member of Congress

Jeff Jackson



Josh Harder

Member of Congress

immy Panetta

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

André Carson

Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett

Member of Congress

Susie Lee