November 30, 2018

New Democrat Coalition Inducts 30 Members-Elect and Elects New Leadership

This week, by a unanimous vote, the New Democrat Coalition was proud to induct 30 new Members-Elect to join the Coalition in the 116th Congress. These new Members-Elect bring an abundance of real-world experience and innovative ideas to the Coalition, and are dedicated to advancing the New Dem vision of keeping our economy competitive and our nation secure.

“In our recent election voters overwhelmingly rejected the President’s divisive rhetoric by electing thoughtful, service-driven leaders who will work across ideologies to get things done. We are so excited to add these members to the ranks of the New Democrat Coalition so we can provide a check and balance on the Administration while also working to change the ways things have been done in Congress. Together we look forward to advancing key priorities like investing in American infrastructure and reducing the cost of health care,” said New Democrat Coalition Chair Jim Himes. 

“Now at more than 90-strong, the New Democrat Coalition will push Congress to look at old problems through a new lens. We are laser-focused on growing the pie, creating jobs in every part of the country, and building an economy where businesses innovate and create more economic opportunities for more people in more places,” New Democrat Coalition Chair-elect Derek Kilmer said. 

The Coalition also elected a new leadership slate for the 116th Congress:


  • Representative Derek Kilmer (WA-06)

Vice Chairs

  • Representative Terri Sewell (AL-07)
  • Representative Scott Peters (CA-52)
  • Representative Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02)
  • Representative Suzan DelBene (WA-01)

The New Democrat Coalition is made up of over 90 forward-thinking Democrats who are committed to pro-economic growth, pro-innovation, and fiscally responsible policies. New Democrats are a solutions oriented coalition seeking to bridge the gap between left and right by challenging outmoded partisan approaches to governing. New Democrats believe the challenges ahead are too great for Members of Congress to refuse to cooperate purely out of partisanship. 



Members-Elected Inducted into the Coalition for the 116th Congress:

1. Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)

2. Greg Stanton (AZ-09)

3. Josh Harder (CA-10)

4. Katie Hill (CA-25)

5. Harley Rouda (CA-48)

6. Jason Crow (CO-06)

7. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)

8. Sean Casten (IL-06)

9. Sharice Davids (KS-03)

10. Elissa Slotkin (MI-08)

11. Haley Stevens (MI-11)

12. Angie Craig (MN-02)

13. Dean Phillips (MN-03)

14. Xochtil Torres-Small (NM-02)

15. Chris Pappas (NH-01)

16. Tom Malinowski (NJ-07)

17. Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)

18. Susie Lee (NV-03)

19. Max Rose (NY-11)

20. Anthony Brindisi (NY-22)

21. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)

22. Susan Wild (PA-07)

23. Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07)

24. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

25. Colin Allred (TX-32)

26. Ben McAdams (UT-04)

27. Elaine Luria (VA-02)

28. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)

29. Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)

30. Kim Schrier (WA-08)