June 06, 2023

New Dem Climate Change & Clean Energy Task Force is Encouraged by the Inclusion of New Dem Permitting Priorities in the Bipartisan Budget Agreement, Calls for Additional Permitting and Transmission Policy Reform

Today, the New Democrat Coalition Climate Change and Clean Energy Task Force, led by Chair Scott Peters (CA-50) and Vice Chairs Sean Casten (IL-06), Eric Sorensen (IL-17), and Susan Wild (PA-07), released the following statement about the permitting reform provisions in the bipartisan Fiscal Responsibility Act, which President Biden signed into law over the weekend: 

“While New Dems are encouraged that several of the Coalition’s permitting reform priorities were reflected in the bipartisan agreement to avoid default, including the legislation’s provisions to streamline the agency review process by expanding existing best practices, there is more work to be done. 

“Our Members remain deeply committed to advancing bipartisan solutions to permitting and transmission policy reform that were unaddressed by the Fiscal Responsibility Act

“In particular, we hope that we can find agreement on provisions relating to energy transmission that enhance grid resiliency and lower energy costs for Americans. Climate change does not wait for governmental reviews, and the frontline communities that continue to bear the disproportionate impacts of climate change and environmental damage cannot afford to wait any longer for Congress to act.

“Lawmakers on both sides of the aisle must come together to unlock our clean energy future. New Dems stand ready to work with our colleagues in the House and Senate to advance a robust, bipartisan energy package to accelerate the energy transition and secure the long-term economic and environmental health of our nation and our planet.”