February 01, 2019

New Democrat Coalition Announces Policy Task Forces

The New Democrat Coalition announced eight policy task forces in the 116th Congress. The task forces will be led by freshman Members, Committee Members, and New Dem issue area experts in order to develop policies to help Americans get ahead in a changing economy and make America more secure.

The new and expanded task forces are charged with meeting with stakeholders and developing policy positions for the Coalition to advance in both the near term and long term. The task forces will target areas where the Coalition can advance policies that help our economy and this Congress get on track.

“We’re excited about the diverse perspectives and impressive ideas that all of our members will bring to the table,” New Democrat Coalition Chair Derek Kilmer said. “At a time when Congress hasn’t historically been a legislative juggernaut, it’s more important than ever that we target some areas where we can move the ball forward and advance some policies that help our economy.”

“The New Democrats are about finding innovative solutions to complicated issues,” said New Democrat Coalition Vice Chair for Policy Suzan DelBene. “The American people have said they want Congress to get things done. With this talented group, we’re committed to finding the best ideas to expand our middle class and create opportunities for hardworking families in this new economy.”

The New Democrat Coalition Task Forces are:

  • The Climate Change Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Don Beyer, Sean Casten, Susan Wild, and Elaine Luria
  • The Future of Work Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Bill Foster, Chris Pappas, Haley Stevens, and Lisa Blunt Rochester
  • The Healthcare Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Angie Craig, Kurt Schrader, Kim Schrier, and Greg Stanton
  • The Housing Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Denny Heck, Katie Hill, and Ben McAdams
  • The Infrastructure Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Stacey Plaskett, Jason Crow, Elissa Slotkin, and Salud Carbajal
  • The National Security Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Anthony Brown, Brendan Boyle, Brad Schneider, and Abigail Spanberger
  • The Technology Task Force
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Sharice Davids, Kendra Horn, Harley Rouda, and Darren Soto
  • The Trade Task Force 
    • Co-Chairs: Reps. Ron Kind, Rick Larsen, Greg Meeks, and Lizzie Fletcher

Read more in Roll Call and Politico.