July 26, 2019

New Democrat Coalition Urges Continued Progress on NAFTA Working Group Discussions Over August

Washington, DC – Today, New Democrat Coalition (NDC) Chair Derek Kilmer, Vice-Chair for Policy Suzan DelBene, and NDC Trade Task Force Co-Chairs Ron Kind, Rick Larsen, Gregory Meeks, and Lizzie Fletcher released the following statement on the status of the discussions between Ambassador Lighthizer and the North America Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) Working Group:

“New Democrats support updating NAFTA to reflect 21st century trade issues. We are encouraged by the progress being made by the NAFTA Working Group and Ambassador Lighthizer to address outstanding issues required to pass an updated NAFTA. We commend the work of New Dem Vice Chair Terri Sewell who is ably representing the priorities of the Coalition on the Working Group.

“We publicly urge all parties, as we have privately in conversations with Speaker Pelosi and Ambassador Lighthizer to continue working over the August District Work Period to make progress towards reaching a bipartisan path forward in the near future.”

Earlier this month, New Democrat Coalition Members sent a letter to Ambassador Robert Lighthizer urging him to continue working with NDC and the Speaker’s Working Group to resolve outstanding issues that must be addressed for successful, bipartisan passage of the updated NAFTA. The Coalition also released NAFTA 2.0 priorities which were developed by our Trade Task Force and approved by the full Coalition.