January 23, 2019

New Democrat Coalition Inducts 9 Additional Members

This week, by a unanimous vote, the New Democrat Coalition was proud to add 9 new Members to join the Coalition in the 116th Congress. These new Members bring an abundance of real-world experience and innovative ideas to the Coalition, and are dedicated to advancing the New Dem vision of keeping our economy competitive and our nation secure.

There are now 40 Freshman Members in the Coalition. With today’s addition, the New Democrat Coalition is the largest ideological caucus in the House.

“Now at more than 100-strong, the New Democrat Coalition will continue to push Congress to look at old problems through a new lens. We are laser-focused on our common denominator: we are here to get something done. New Democrats are eager to grow the pie, create jobs in every part of the country, and build an economy where businesses innovate. Together we can work to create more economic opportunities for more people in more places,” New Democrat Coalition Chair Derek Kilmer said. 

The New Democrat Coalition is made up of over 100 forward-thinking Democrats who are committed to pro-economic growth, pro-innovation, and fiscally responsible policies. New Democrats are a solutions-oriented coalition seeking to bridge the gap between left and right by challenging outmoded partisan approaches to governing. New Democrats believe the challenges ahead are too great for Members of Congress to refuse to cooperate purely out of partisanship. 


Additional Members Inducted into the Coalition for the 116th Congress:

  • Cindy Axne (IA-03)
  • Gil Cisneros (CA-39)
  • Joe Cunningham (SC-01)
  • Madeleine Dean (PA-04)
  • Kendra Horn (OK-05)
  • Steven Horsford (NV-04)
  • Lucy McBath (GA-06)
  • Lori Trahan (MA-03)
  • David Trone (MD-06)