May 19, 2022

New Dems Push the Department of Commerce for Action on Solar Investigation

Today, Members of the New Democrat Coalition, led by Chair Suzan DelBene (WA-01) and Vice Chair for Policy Scott Peters (CA-52), released a statement urging the Department of Commerce to act swiftly in its investigation of solar technology imports. Solar energy is critical to lowering energy costs for families, creating American jobs, and transitioning to a green economy to combat climate change.  

The New Democrat Coalition welcomes Secretary Raimondo's commitment to move swiftly on the Department of Commerce's recently initiated solar investigation. New Dems believe it is critical that the U.S. uphold the global rules-based trading system, enforce U.S. trade laws, and coordinate with like-minded countries to counter unfair trade abuses. As we do so, it is imperative that we provide certainty to the solar industry to meet our clean energy targets, protect American jobs, and lower energy costs for American families impacted by Putin's price hike on fossil fuels. 

As the U.S. invests in American research, development, domestic manufacturing, and deployment of clean technology, we will continue to rely on imports in order to reach our climate goals for years to come. We are concerned by reports of delayed and cancelled installations and extensions of fossil fuel plants that otherwise would have been retired. We urge Commerce to act to prioritize resolving this investigation in accordance with the law to protect American jobs and the Administration’s climate strategy.”

This statement is signed by New Dem Chair Suzan DelBene (WA-01); Vice Chair for Policy Scott Peters (CA-52); Vice Chair for Member Services Sharice Davids (KS-03); Leadership Member Kathy Manning (NC-06); NDC Climate Change Task Force Co-Chair Sean Casten (IL-06) and Task Force Members Brad Schneider (IL-10), Kim Schrier (WA-08), Deborah Ross (NC-02), Charlie Crist (FL-13), Jason Crow (CO-06), A. Donald McEachin (VA-04); and NDC Trade Task Force Co-Chair Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) and Task Force Members Don Beyer (VA-08), Gregory Meeks (NY-05), Rick Larsen (WA-02), and Jimmy Panetta (CA-20).