December 01, 2020

New Democrat Coalition Elects New Leadership Team and Inducts Five Members-Elect

Today, the New Democrat Coalition (NDC), elected Rep. Suzan DelBene (WA-01) to be the next Chair; Reps. Ami Bera (CA-07), Sharice Davids (KS-03), Annie Kuster (NH-02), and Scott Peters (CA-52) to be the next Vice Chairs; and Rep.-elect Kathy Manning (NC-06) to be the Freshman Leadership Representative. Current Chair Derek Kilmer (WA-06) will serve as Chair Emeritus next Congress. In addition, by a unanimous vote, the NDC inducted five new Members-elect to join the Coalition in the 117th Congress. These new Members-elect bring real-world experiences and innovative ideas to the Coalition and they are all united around common New Dem priorities to strengthen our economic competitiveness through bold, forward-looking policy solutions. 

“I would like to thank my New Dem colleagues who served alongside me to lead this coalition over the past two years,” said Derek Kilmer (WA-06). “Going into next Congress, New Democrats remain laser-focused on getting things done for the American people. We look forward to advancing our New Dem priorities by working hand in hand with the incoming Biden Administration.”

“The New Democrat Coalition has a unique opportunity to deliver real change in the 117th Congress and I look forward to leading this diverse coalition during this pivotal time. New Dems and its policy ideas are closely aligned to the incoming Biden-Harris administration and we will be a key partner in building the coalitions necessary to address the multiple crises the nation is currently facing,“ said Suzan DelBene (WA-01). “One of the top things I hear from constituents is that they want governance to work again. After years of gridlock and obstructionism, I’m focused on getting to ‘yes’ on the biggest issues before us including additional pandemic relief, better health care for all Americans, getting the middle class back to work with living wages, and investing in new, green infrastructure.”


The NDC Leadership team for the 117th Congress:


  • Rep. Suzan DelBene (WA-01)

Vice Chairs:

  • Rep. Ami Bera (CA-07)
  • Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-03)
  • Rep. Annie Kuster (NH-02)
  • Rep. Scott Peters (CA-52)

Freshman Leadership Representative

  • Rep.-elect Kathy Manning (NC-06) 

Chair Emeritus

  • Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06)

In the coming days, Chair-elect DelBene will appoint additional members to the leadership team pursuant to the Coalition’s bylaws. 

Members-elect inducted into the NDC for the 117th Congress:

  • Rep.-elect Sara Jacobs (CA-53)
  • Rep.-elect Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07)
  • Rep.-elect Kathy Manning (NC-06)
  • Rep.-elect Deborah Ross (NC-02)
  • Rep.-elect Marilyn Strickland (WA-10)