February 05, 2024

New Democrat Coalition Leadership, Immigration Task Force Chair & National Security Task Force Chair on Bipartisan Bill to Support our Allies and Secure the Southern Border

New Dems have urged Speaker Johnson to set aside partisan politics, work with Dems on a bipartisan bill to address the challenges at the border and ensure our national security

Washington, D.C. — Today, New Democrat Coalition (NDC) Leadership, Immigration and Border Security Task Force Chair Greg Stanton (AZ-04) and National Security Task Force Chair Marilyn Strickland (WA-10) released the following statement on the bipartisan national security funding bill to secure the border and address the broken asylum process, support Ukraine, Israel and Taiwan, and deliver humanitarian relief:

“New Dems are very encouraged by the bipartisan agreement on a national security supplemental bill to help address both critical immigration and border security issues – including addressing the broken asylum system – as well as supporting our allies in their existential fights for freedom and against tyranny and terror. 

“Throughout the 118th Congress, and long before, New Dems have sought to work with House Republicans to take bold, thoughtful action to address the challenges at our borders and to ensure our nation’s security at home and abroad.

“While not perfect, this legislation is a good, bipartisan step forward to restore order at the border and fix our broken immigration system. The bill would also help Ukraine and Israel defend their citizens while ensuring critical humanitarian aid continues to be delivered to civilians caught in these and other conflicts. New Dems are also grateful for the inclusion of increased nonprofit security funding. 

“The goals achieved by this bill are important to our national security, and the American people deserve to have the legislation receive serious consideration from House Republican leadership. By recklessly rejecting the package out of hand, House GOP leadership is playing a dangerous political game. We urge House Republicans to put aside their petty partisanship, evaluate this legislation on its own merits, and let all House Members have a vote."

New Dem Leadership includes Chair Annie Kuster (NH-02), Vice Chair for Policy Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Vice Chair for Outreach and Co-Chair of the Immigration and Border Security Task Force Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Vice Chair Sharice Davids (KS-03), Vice Chair for Communications Brad Schneider (IL-10), Leadership Member Marc Veasey (TX-33), Leadership Member and National Security Task Force Chair Marilyn Strickland (WA-10), Whip Susie Lee (NV-03), and Freshman Leadership Representative Nikki Budzinski (IL-13).