June 23, 2021

New Democrat Coalition Endorses Slate of Bills to Combat Climate Change

Today the New Democrat Coalition (NDC) endorsed its first slate of bills in the 117th Congress to confront the existential threat of climate change, building on the Coalition’s work to advance an ambitious and actionable policy agenda to attain net-zero emissions by 2050 at the latest. As the House continues to develop legislation in response to the President’s American Jobs Plan, the NDC will push for durable policy solutions that leverage every technology and solution available to curb emissions and position the U.S. as the global leader in the climate-forward economy.

As part of this slate, the NDC endorsed eleven bills, including ten that were previously endorsed by the Coalition in the 116th Congress:  

  • H.R. 425, To Amend the Energy Independence Security Act of 2007 and to Reauthorize the Energy Efficiency & Conservation Block Grant Program, Reps. Greg Stanton & Marc Veasey
  • H.R. 2656, the National Green Bank Act, Rep. Jim Himes
  • H.R. 3200, the Community Energy Savings Program Act, Rep. Annie Kuster
  • H.R. 2818, the Mitigate Methane Now Act, Reps. Mikie Sherrill and Lisa Blunt Rochester
  • H.R. 2791, the Renewable Energy for Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands Act, Rep. Ted Lieu and Del. Stacey Plaskett 
  • H.R. 2570, the Climate Risk Disclosure Act, Rep. Sean Casten
  • H.Res. 295, The Resolution on the Environmental Goods Agreement, Rep. Suzan DelBene
  • H.R. 1733, the RECLAIM Act of 2021, Rep. Matt Cartwright 
  • H.R. 4155, The Green Neighborhoods Act, Rep. Ed Perlmutter 
  • H.R. 3892, the National Ocean and Coastal Security Improvements Act, Rep. Don Beyer
  • H.J.Res.34, Congressional Disapproval Resolution to Restore Obama-era Methane Rules, Reps. Diane DeGette, Scott Peters, and Conor Lamb

"Urgent, bold action is essential to curb the worst effects of the climate crisis. The bills New Dems endorsed today will put our country on track to tackle climate change while moving us towards a more sustainable, forward-thinking economy,” said NDC Vice Chair for Policy Scott Peters (CA-52). “Measures that reduce dangerous emissions, like the resolution I helped introduce to restore Obama-era rules to cut methane emissions, are especially key if we are to accomplish net-zero emissions by 2050. We need to embrace solutions that position the U.S. as a leader on these issues and prepare our markets to compete globally.”

“Passing common-sense, market-based solutions to safeguard our financial system against climate change has been a top priority since my first day in Congress—and I was so glad to see my Climate Risk Disclosure Act pass the House with the support of New Dems,” said NDC Climate Change Task Force Co-Chair Sean Casten (IL-06). “By harnessing the power of free markets, we can speed up the transition to cleaner, cheaper energy and create jobs. Climate action is a win, win, win and as Co-Chair of the Climate Change Task Force for the New Democrat Coalition I’m proud to support these crucial pieces of legislation."

“These climate bills are not just commonsense, they are urgently necessary. From restoring a strong standard for methane emissions, to improving energy efficiency standards in housing, these bills directly address the climate crisis while advancing pro-market policy solutions that reinforce American leadership in combatting climate change” said NDC Climate Change Task Force Co-Chair Susan Wild (PA-07). “There is no time to waste in addressing the climate crisis, and as a Co-Chair of the Climate Change Task Force for the New Democrat Coalition, I am proud to support these meaningful measures.”

Earlier this year, the NDC relaunched its Climate Change Task Force, building on the Coalition’s First 100 Day Agenda priority to modernize our infrastructure, combat climate change, and create jobs. Through the Task Force, the NDC continues to develop and advance sustainable policy solutions to tackle climate change, build our clean energy future, and invest in our nation’s preparedness and resilience. The Task Force is made up of fourteen New Dem Members: 

  • Climate Change Task Force Co-Chair Sean Casten  
  • Climate Change Task Force Co-Chair Susan Wild 
  • NDC Vice Chair Scott Peters  
  • NDC Vice Chair Ann McLane Kuster  
  • NDC Leadership Member Brad Schneider 
  • NDC Chair Emeritus Derek Kilmer 
  • Rep. Don Beyer  
  • Rep. Julia Brownley  
  • Rep. Charlie Christ  
  • Rep. Jason Crow 
  • Rep. Elaine Luria  
  • Rep. Donald McEachin  
  • Rep. Kim Schrier  
  • Rep. Deborah Ross  

In the 116th Congress, the NDC secured several climate priorities as part of the Energy Act of 2020, which was signed into law as part of H.R. 133, the Omnibus Appropriations and Emergency Coronavirus Relief Package. Read the full list of New Dem-endorsed climate change legislation in the 117th Congress.